Rainbow Tours takes your privacy very seriously and you can unsubscribe at any time. Please read our Privacy Policy so you can understand how we collect and use your personal data. https://www.rainbowtours.co.uk/content/privacy/
Derek Schuurman
Derek Schuurman Product Manager Madagascar and Alternative Africa
"In terms of a gratifying birding experience among evergreen Afro-tropical forests, Bwindi to me will always be unbeatable!"

Bwindi Reviews

Hi Craig

I had an epic trip in Uganda recently and I wanted to give you my feedback,

Don’t change anything. It’s been tough to come back to reality after such a marvelous holiday! I will never forget the beautiful sounds of the forest from my room in the Buhoma Lodge and the L’Hoest monkeys outside my cabin, the gorilla families I visited, and the chimpanzee who strolled past, just a few feet away, and who gave me a look as if to say, ‘what are you looking at?’. The itinerary was excellent, and there was plenty to do, but it was possible to relax as well. I was particularly fortunate that our group of five got on so well. Our guide, Ham, was friendly and knowledgeable.

I was inspired to go to Uganda by two Dutch ladies I met on holiday, who were enthusiastic but gave me the impression that I should expect to rough it a bit. They couldn’t have been more wrong. The standard of the accommodation and the food was overall very high. On the first night I stayed in a beautiful room in the Boutique no. 5 Hotel in Entebbe and the food there was extraordinary and exceptionally creative, even measured by London standards. Buhoma Lodge and Ishasha Wilderness Camp were in beautiful locations and had some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I’ve ever come across: nothing was too much trouble and I was made to feel like a VIP.

It was very helpful that the flights were booked on my behalf: I had an experience with another travel company where I had to book my own flights to Tanzania and if I’d been better informed I would have had a much less stressful journey on the way there. My only niggle would be an issue with reconfirming my return flight, which I was instructed to do in the travel information. The office in Entebbe couldn’t do it, as they didn’t have my flight details, and I ended up emailing Craig in London  (in itself tricky, as I didn’t have email access in the Ishasha Wilderness Camp on my phone and one of the other passengers did it for me. It turned out that I probably didn’t need to reconfirm, but it did cause me a bit of stress.

Rainbow Tours will definitely be my first port of call when I’m booking future trips, wherever they may be.

 

 

Ms Molony
February 3, 2020

Hi Craig, thank you for your email. We had an absolutely wonderful holiday thanks. All of the lodges and trips were fantastic as were the drivers and everyone we met out there. Everything exceeded our expectations

It was a lovely experience, well organised with lovely accommodation. Tour guides /leaders very friendly and helpful.

All excursions were very enjoyable. 

Overall tour satisfaction Excellent.

Service from Rainbow Tours Excellent

Service from our local partner: Excellent.

 

Mrs Salim & Mr Hassan
January 2, 2020

Superb highlights; two gorilla days- two boat trips- Ugandan Dancers- Semliki lodge- Elephant plains lodge- Chimp habituation walk-Primate Lodge

Driver/guides were great; flexible and informative. 

Need an extra day to acclimatise at altitude in Rwanda before trekking for gorilla.

 

 

 

Mrs Collins & Mr Dickinson
December 19, 2019

Derek and Craig

I had a wonderful time in Rwanda and Uganda and I would like to thank you both for all your efforts in arranging and planning the trip. The two guide, Augustine and Peter were first class, professional and their great humour & cheerfulness was fundamental in keeping group moral on some of the more challenging days. They were a pleasure to be with and huge asset to the tour.

Personally I was happy with virtually everything on the trip, the lodges, the places visited, the food, the whole adventure! Without wishing to add any negative tones, the only fundamental changes that would have eased some tensions with some people are the following:-

- Many companies have a tip pool, which the guide leader deals with on a daily basis, in which you start out by handing over

- The first gorilla tracking in which we climbed up to almost 3200m  -  most did not have suitable footwear. Now I thought that your notes were clear enough, but for others the trek difficulty, the mud, the type of walking gear required came as a shock. Maybe that needs high-lighting for future trips.

For me, I was happy with everything and I felt that anyone with common sense would appreciate what they had signed up for...  The countries of Rwanda and Uganda are beautiful places with warm, polite and welcoming people. I feel privileged to have visited them both, and for that I thank you both.

Well done both of you for doing a fantastic job.

Kind Regards,

Paul

  

Dr Rathbone
December 10, 2019
The entire process was wonderful. Craig Kaufman responded to my requests, even my unavoidable last minute changes to my flights. I have recommended this company and his name to a colleague of mine who would like to do a similar trip.
 
The actual experience I cannot say enough about, a couple of weeks later now, it seems like it was truly a divine dream come true. I loved the lodge, the personnel there addressed you by your name as soon as you set foot outside of the vehicle upon arrival. The meals were wonderful, the UWA was very efficient, the trekking was superb and of course the gorilla families were beyond beautiful.
 
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge: excellent in all respects. 
.
 
If I return to the area to do the habituation program I will definitely use the same company, agent, guide and lodging.
Ms Debold
November 5, 2018

'The trip (Uganda Gorilla & Game:Group Safari) was great.

Enjoyed all lodges, loved Buhoma more. All staff were great.

The gorilla trekking was great - came back after 6 hours for the 1st trek.  The sightings were great and the Uganda Wildlife Authority guide was engaging and passionate.

The forest walk was amazing, though it had an effect on their fitness the next day for gorilla trekking.

Ham (our guide) was a star. He was very knowledgeable. The vehicle was good and comfortable.

Gorilla trekking was the safari highlight' 

Lewis
June 28, 2017

'Dennis, our guide, was a star. He couldn't do enough. Seeing the gorillas and other wildlife was fantastic. This was one of the best holidays in Africa. 

Kyaninga Lodge: this was absolutely stunniing. So friendly. 

Mweya Lodge was excellent. The pet mongoose and boat ride were great. 

Ishasha Wilderness Tented Camp: great fun avoiding a Cape buffalo on the way back from dinner.

Mihingo Lodge: the bushbaby was great. 

This was a brilliant holiday in every respect. The widlife was stunning - we were lucky we saw the gorillas after only 30 minutes walk. The cat tracking provided excellent photo opportunities and the chimp and boat rides were stunning, but above all the friendliness of the people was something to behold. 

Once again thanks for organising an excellent holiday. 

All the best'

Mr and Mrs Jones
June 15, 2017

 

 

'All the lodges were very good, with great food, rooms were nice and the staff. Excellent choice of accommodation.  The gorilla trekking was great, the round trip lasted about 7 hours.  

David was a fabulous guide and fun to be with, he was very knowledgeable and answered every other question he was asked. Gorilla trek was the highlight, the boat trip was great too'.

 

Atherton
October 4, 2016

The staff made my birthday extra special

M Hodgson
October 10, 2013
Review items: Buhoma Lodge    

Wonderful place and we were looked after extremely well – the best lodge on the trip.

B Tong
August 1, 2013
Review items: Buhoma Lodge    

The service was amazing. We had our own “butler” and “maid” who looked after us so well

J Wilson
June 17, 2013

The accommodation we stayed in was extremely good, our favourites being the Bohoma Lodge, extra friendly staff, beautiful location, room with a veranda view, excellent food, lovely 'bucket' fires in the dining room and of course the hot water bottle.

S & J Walpole
February 28, 2011
Review items: Buhoma Lodge    
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137
Travel with Confidence Learn More