Fiona Herring
Fiona Herring Travel Specialist
"Smell the spice, hear the chatter of the ladies picking seaweed and swim in the azure ocean... Zanzibar is a delight for the senses."

Zanzibar Coast Reviews

'Overall holiday satisfaction: Excellent.

Gorilla Mountain View Lodge: excellent comfort, service, location, meals and facilities.

Wildebeest Camp: Excellent comfort and location. Good service, meals and facilities. Barking dogs and noisy toads kept me awake! Perfect otherwise.

Amboseli Porini Camp: Excellent in all respects.

Rwandan driver-guide Mussa and hotel staff second-to-none. Nothing was too muc bother and everything was undertaken with  smile. Went beyond the call of duty - lovely people, amazing country and amazing Gorillas!

Masai guides, Tony the camp manager at Porini and everyone fantastic hosts. Smiling and hospitable & fantastic wildife spotters. An amazing experience.'

December 7, 2015

The food was excellent and the environment relaxing. The Boat / Reef trip was excellent.

P Ouseley
August 31, 2014

Delighted to have received a complimentary upgrade at Matemwe Beach Lodge – the Asali Suite was idyllic! Such a lovely hotel, staff is superb!

Mr Richard Herring
April 2, 2014

Chania – thank you for a fabulous holiday.

Mr Ken Slaughter
April 2, 2014

A wonderful place to relax and do nothing. Spoiled with romantic dinner on the beach. 

P Symonds
September 24, 2013

First class – Lovely lovely place nothing to fault. Did not want to leave!

C Green
September 4, 2013

Superb service throughout - fab resort

M Naylor
August 4, 2013

Matemwe was absolutely beautiful and is the best chill out place we’ve ever been to. Probably could have done with a bit more shade on the beach, but it was all so peaceful, even at night, and we slept like babies! Lovely staff.

S Sturgess
July 26, 2013

Pongwe was a wonderful place just to relax. Staff very friendly and helpful 

S Cole
February 28, 2013

Matemwe Beach resort was just what was needed before we returned home even for our four night stay I am glad we upgraded!! Our “suite” was wonderful and we did spend a lot of time on our roof terrace as it was exceptionally hot whilst we were there and it just allowed us to chill in our own space. Once again the food was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the bar-b-que night and the opportunity to interact with other guests. I am still “seeing” the turquoise sea and I am afraid the North Sea off the Yorkshire coast does not hold quite the same appeal!!

Y Sparks
February 22, 2013

Loved the place. It has a great vibe with a lively bar, and just what we wanted, as top of our list was a relaxing beach break. It’s a very friendly lodge and very easy going.

H Robinson
September 30, 2012

Rob Morley was excellent at organising a complicated trip & keeping us informed all the time. Could not fault the service from Rainbow Tours. Ras Nungwi Hotel was well run and the beach was beautiful. Selous Impala camp was superb.

February 9, 2012

The Pongwe Beach Hotel is extremely welcoming and personable staff, made possible by small size of hotel, fabulous food. The help we received from Chania in booking and prior departure was very good. Everything went like clockwork and worked out superbly. Fabulous destinations, especially Kicheche & Ponwe Beach. we will return to East Africa and probably use you again. thank you.

October 9, 2011

The Baraza Resort is an amazing place to stay.

September 6, 2011
Review items: Baraza    

Really exceptional all round at Unguja Lodge. Food was delicious with good choice, staff were all really friendly and helpful. Owners made an effort to chat and were visible. I would have felt very comfortable letting them know of any problems. Villa was great and different.

Author: M Blaza
June 29, 2011
Review items: Unguja Lodge    

The communal areas and food were good and the staff were lovely.

R Mellor
June 29, 2011

The rooms and communal areas were nice and the food was ok, but we felt there was a lack of choice (set menu) and didn’t like that everyone ate at the same time!

R Mellor
June 29, 2011

We felt very welcome after the relatively rigorous safari week. The attractiveness of site, facilities and beach overcame relative isolation of the hotel. Excellent throughout.

Author: P Ashton
January 31, 2011

Meals, facilities and comfort excellent. Though a little remote in Northern Zanzibar, [we] had everything one could wish for, for R&R as promised.

J Colligan
January 31, 2011

Overall excellent. Lovely place, great food at hotel with a wide range of local restaurants also.

A Roberts
September 29, 2010
Review items: Z Hotel    

We enjoyed our stay at Fumba Beach Lodge

I James
August 30, 2010

Great setting, good service, amazing beach.

Author: J Alder
July 31, 2010
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137