Candice Buchan
Candice Buchan Travel Specialist
"It’s so hard to choose just a couple of places in South Africa, but for me beach time at Plettenberg Bay and a safari in Sabi Sand top my list."

The Whale Route Reviews

Wish we could have stayed longer!

D & R Northampton
October 26, 2013

Just the best of the best, the location couldn’t be beaten. Gideon was incredibly helpful, he had son many suggestions for places to see, even on our drive back to Cape Town. Nico, made us all smile and his knowledge of whales was amazing. Breakfast delicious and their special tea not to be missed. 

S Reeves
September 8, 2013
Review items: Cliff Lodge    

Great location, but we only stayed a night.

P & A Micottis
September 5, 2013

Full marks for service, comfort, meals location and service!

A Anderson
February 28, 2011

We loved this Cliff Lodge! Everything was excellent!

T Bridle
January 31, 2011
Review items: Cliff Lodge    

Fantastic location, lovely food and helpful staff and owner at Lavender Manor. Would love to return.

R Wild
October 30, 2010

The staff were very helpful. We were able to watch whales whilst having breakfast. 

W Wood
October 10, 2010
Review items: Ocean Eleven    

Wonderful experience.

R Tweddle
August 30, 2010
Review items: Ocean Eleven    

Excellent location but, in comparison with other guest houses, the service was “colder” and seemed less interested in their guests.

K Falls
September 12, 2009
Review items: Ocean Eleven    

Roof-top viewing of whales was excellent with easy walk to Guetto Beach. Although [the hotel] is not in Hermanus itself, so a drive to restaurants is required.

J Watson
October 27, 2008
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137