Fiona Herring
Fiona Herring Travel Specialist
"Smell the spice, hear the chatter of the ladies picking seaweed and swim in the azure ocean... Zanzibar is a delight for the senses."
Zanzibar

Zanzibar Reviews

'Overall holiday satisfaction: Excellent.

Gorilla Mountain View Lodge: excellent comfort, service, location, meals and facilities.

Wildebeest Camp: Excellent comfort and location. Good service, meals and facilities. Barking dogs and noisy toads kept me awake! Perfect otherwise.

Amboseli Porini Camp: Excellent in all respects.

Rwandan driver-guide Mussa and hotel staff second-to-none. Nothing was too muc bother and everything was undertaken with  smile. Went beyond the call of duty - lovely people, amazing country and amazing Gorillas!

Masai guides, Tony the camp manager at Porini and everyone fantastic hosts. Smiling and hospitable & fantastic wildife spotters. An amazing experience.'

Freer-Smith
December 7, 2015

John and I just wanted to say a big 'thank you' for arranging the itinerary for our Golden Wedding.  The whole trip was absolutely delightful.  The guide kind, helpful and knowledgeable and the camps and lodges you chose equally interesting.  Also nearly everything worked out to plan, which I know is not always possible in these countries - our only blip being a couple of hours in Arusha airport as they couldn't fit us on the first plane to Zanzibar.  
 
It was great to relax at The Manor.  It was SO beautiful there and the air is perfect.  We just wished we could be there longer as we hardly touched base with all our interesting viewing in the crater.  Somehow they calculated our return home and we came back to a bath already drawn full of rose petals.  Then we were really spoilt with private dining, everything was perfect.  Surely one of the best hotels we have visited.
 
We thought nothing could top that, but on our actual anniversary in Zanzibar, they brought canapés and bucks fizz to our room, which we thought was very nice, but then when we went for a drink before dinner they surprised us further by saying we were off for a 'bush' dinner.  This confused me a bit as we were now on the beach, but it was amazing.  They had built a little room on the beach from palm leaves, interwoven with flowers and put some fairy lights along the bushes.  A big fire burned in a pit (only about 30deg) which was very atmospheric and then we had a special menu, with our own waiter. Various member of staff visited to wish us well, and when we returned to our room we had a bottle of sparkling wine, and some presents too.  We were absolutely bowled over by it all, and had to admit that it was all much better than our actual wedding. Again possibly one of the best hotels we have visited.
 
The game viewing was great - each park having it's own speciality and we saw some amazing things.  Kusini had a pair of lions visiting nightly and a herd of buffalo munching away a couple of feet from our bed.  We loved Suala too, so pretty.  So thank you very much for arranging it all for us.

John and Sheila Macnamara
March 10, 2015

The food was excellent and the environment relaxing. The Boat / Reef trip was excellent.

P Ouseley
August 31, 2014

We had a truly brilliant time. Everything went like clockwork and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip.

I can't thank you enough for organising such a fantastic trip for us. It exceeded all our expectations (mine, and those of two teenagers) and was a wonderful experience.

Thank you also for tracking us down to alert us to the flight change so we got home okay. I will tell anyone interested in an African holiday what a great experience we had.

Many thanks again!

Ms Tamsin Beaumont
August 7, 2014

Delighted to have received a complimentary upgrade at Matemwe Beach Lodge – the Asali Suite was idyllic! Such a lovely hotel, staff is superb!

Mr Richard Herring
April 2, 2014

A wonderful place to relax and do nothing. Spoiled with romantic dinner on the beach. 

P Symonds
September 24, 2013

Wonderful décor etc, not here long enough!

P Symonds
September 24, 2013

We had a simply wonderful; time and would like to thank you for your help in making it so good. We had many ‘WOW’ moments but we particularly will never forget the whole ‘Siwandu experience’ and being shown into the baobab suite at Fumba. We would not hesitate to recommend your company and the places you sent us – we will be back! 

D Jenkins
September 23, 2013
Review items: Zanzibar    

First class – Lovely lovely place nothing to fault. Did not want to leave!

C Green
September 4, 2013

Great location, wish we had longer here

C Green
September 4, 2013

Superb service throughout - fab resort

M Naylor
August 4, 2013

Matemwe was absolutely beautiful and is the best chill out place we’ve ever been to. Probably could have done with a bit more shade on the beach, but it was all so peaceful, even at night, and we slept like babies! Lovely staff.

S Sturgess
July 26, 2013

We can honestly say that the service we received from Rainbow Tours could not be bettered. (As in previous experiences) Rob had taken very much on board what we would like to have and matched both location and accommodation perfectly. He showed patience and understanding while arrangements for the holiday were being made and I look forward to his expertise and patience when organising our next year’s trip!! Thank you Rainbow Tours!!

M Kirkby
June 8, 2013
Review items: Zanzibar    

Pongwe was a wonderful place just to relax. Staff very friendly and helpful 

S Cole
February 28, 2013

Zanzibar Palace was a nice, quiet, hotel in a very busy town. Food and service were excellent. 

A Cole
February 28, 2013

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel was a true gem, hidden in the back streets

Y Sparks
February 22, 2013

Matemwe Beach resort was just what was needed before we returned home even for our four night stay I am glad we upgraded!! Our “suite” was wonderful and we did spend a lot of time on our roof terrace as it was exceptionally hot whilst we were there and it just allowed us to chill in our own space. Once again the food was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the bar-b-que night and the opportunity to interact with other guests. I am still “seeing” the turquoise sea and I am afraid the North Sea off the Yorkshire coast does not hold quite the same appeal!!

Y Sparks
February 22, 2013

The whole trip was brilliant, only two bad things where the late pick up from Zanzibar airport and the slow service at mealtimes - but in Africa, African time is what we have come to expect. In all though it was absolutely first class – the safari, Matemwe Beach and the hotel in Stone Town all catered well and all the staff were good. We would recommend this holiday to anyone. Thank you Rainbow Tours - you made my wife’s 60th birthday a trip to always remember and look back on.

M Marsh
January 25, 2013
Review items: Zanzibar    

Loved the place. It has a great vibe with a lively bar, and just what we wanted, as top of our list was a relaxing beach break. It’s a very friendly lodge and very easy going.

H Robinson
September 30, 2012

Rob Morley was excellent at organising a complicated trip & keeping us informed all the time. Could not fault the service from Rainbow Tours. Ras Nungwi Hotel was well run and the beach was beautiful. Selous Impala camp was superb.

Anon
February 9, 2012

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel has very helpful hosts and good location. Not too impressed with Stone Town although happy to ‘tick it off’

John and Caroline Close
February 1, 2012

Thanks for organizing such a brilliant trip to Tanzania and Zanzibar. Our guides were absolutely fabulous. We spotted 2 leopards on the first day and in the days that followed we saw many more predators! The lodges were superb without exception. One should not overlook the essential role that [Rainbow Tours] provided in planning our trip. I have no idea whether other people ask as many questions, but the end result was a trip of a lifetime.

A Jones
December 10, 2011
Review items: Zanzibar    

Zanzibar Palace Hotel is more of a posh guest house than a hotel, very friendly management a place with character and good breakfast. 

Stuart
October 9, 2011

The Pongwe Beach Hotel is extremely welcoming and personable staff, made possible by small size of hotel, fabulous food. The help we received from Chania in booking and prior departure was very good. Everything went like clockwork and worked out superbly. Fabulous destinations, especially Kicheche & Ponwe Beach. we will return to East Africa and probably use you again. thank you.

Stuart
October 9, 2011

The Baraza Resort is an amazing place to stay.

Willis
September 6, 2011
Review items: Baraza    

Our holiday could not have been better.

J Drath
June 29, 2011
Review items: Zanzibar    

Really exceptional all round at Unguja Lodge. Food was delicious with good choice, staff were all really friendly and helpful. Owners made an effort to chat and were visible. I would have felt very comfortable letting them know of any problems. Villa was great and different.

Author: M Blaza
June 29, 2011
Review items: Unguja Lodge    

The communal areas and food were good and the staff were lovely.

R Mellor
June 29, 2011

The rooms and communal areas were nice and the food was ok, but we felt there was a lack of choice (set menu) and didn’t like that everyone ate at the same time!

R Mellor
June 29, 2011

A good stay for a couple of days at Zanzibar Palace Hotel… We had a fantastic meal on our first evening (lobster was the size of 2 in UK!) and the manager and his staff very welcoming and professional.

A Blair
February 28, 2011

Excellent meals…I would describe it more as ‘authentic’ than barefoot luxury

A Blair
February 28, 2011
Review items: Ras Mbisi    

All guides [in Tanzania and Zanzibar] were excellent, particularly at Selous Safari Camp, (the Rainbow Tours representative in Zanzibar) were also very helpful.

A Blair
February 2, 2011
Review items: Zanzibar    

Thanks for all your help - Fab holiday. Everyone who drove us in Tanzania and Zanzibar were charming.

B Cook
January 31, 2011
Review items: Zanzibar    

Meals and location are good at Zanzibar Serena Inn. [We] only ate breakfast here. [It’s] easy to walk anywhere in old Stone Town and to make trips to the islands.

Author: J Colligan
January 31, 2011

We felt very welcome after the relatively rigorous safari week. The attractiveness of site, facilities and beach overcame relative isolation of the hotel. Excellent throughout.

Author: P Ashton
January 31, 2011

Meals, facilities and comfort excellent. Though a little remote in Northern Zanzibar, [we] had everything one could wish for, for R&R as promised.

J Colligan
January 31, 2011

Overall excellent. Lovely place, great food at hotel with a wide range of local restaurants also.

A Roberts
September 29, 2010
Review items: Z Hotel    

You put together a great trip for us! Thank you

R Walsh
August 31, 2010
Review items: Zanzibar    

An outstanding holiday!

I James
August 30, 2010
Review items: Zanzibar    

We enjoyed our stay at Fumba Beach Lodge

I James
August 30, 2010

Very, very good holiday so thank you. We loved all the hotels/lodges and had an excellent time with fantastic game viewing and then a relaxing time in Zanzibar.

Kempe
July 31, 2010
Review items: Zanzibar    

Great setting, good service, amazing beach.

Author: J Alder
July 31, 2010

Remote paradise at Chumbe Island Lodge. No complaints!

Author: Chumbe
June 30, 2010

Outstanding holiday. All went to plan and fulfilled our brief. Have already recommended you to others. Many thanks.

Scammell
June 21, 2010
Review items: Zanzibar    

We also enjoyed Fundu Lagoon, however we believe you know this venue quite well. Again it was very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. Great cocktails. Both venues (Mara Plains and Fundu Lagoon) complemented each other exceptionally well and were incredibly similar in style and comfort. Both had a strong sense of the environment and surroundings.

C Saunders
February 28, 2010
Review items: Fundu Lagoon    

Tim Ecott was excellent company – great fun to dive with – very knowledgeable and informative.

I Fleming
November 19, 2009
Review items: Zanzibar    

Great spot. Never been more relaxed. Peter, Michael, Sarah and all others were absolutely great hosts.

Jim Freeh
June 15, 2009

Thanks for a beautiful holiday. The trip totally surpassed our very high expectations. The trip really was seamless, and a joy! We adored Chumbe – if someone had told me my job in the UK didn’t exist, I would have believed them. The real surprise was Tides, an amazing place. So chilled and private. The new American guy is brilliant. The snorkelling really is very special. Tides was the highlight.

B & J Howard-Wright
February 4, 2009
Review items: Zanzibar    

We particularly enjoyed the location of this hotel and the complimentary trips to the Beach Club on the coast... The Prime rooms are certainly worth paying for with much better views and huge verandahs...

Author: S Jones & A Blower
February 23, 2008
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137