Zambia Reviews

Royal Zambezi Lodge was superb. With bookings in the future, try to get them into the Frontier Lodge;  the location of the lodge, right at the end of the row, means  it has its own private game viewing area. The staff did tell us that when it’s not occupied they use it themselves because of its spectacular views. The food was excellent, the head chef using his imagination.  The staff were friendly and helpful; they laid on two special game drives just for me in order to give me the best chance of seeing lion.  The weather was overcast throughout our stay here and there was a strong wind blowing; jumpers and fleeces were worn all day. But there was a lovely log fire in one area and we were offered hot water bottles to make up for it!

S Brown
October 27, 2014

The islands of Siankaba were gorgeous - very comfortable, excellent food and again friendly and helpful staff. The sun came out while we were there but the electric blankets were useful. We had one excellent day out – a walk around Victoria Falls, followed by a helicopter flights over the Falls and culminating in walking with lions. The lodge provided two guides, waterproofs, towels and an excellent packed lunch for the walk around the Falls. The helicopter flight was excellent and I would definitely recommend that anyone enquiring about this   take the longer flight which is really spectacular. Walking with lions was an experience never to be forgotten. To stroke a lion and to hold its tail as it walked was an awesome experience. We found out about this on the internet, it is not included in the lodge’s website.

S Brown
October 27, 2014

As for Waterberry Lodge, what a surprise to be in the River Farmhouse – a one-year old house on the banks of the Zambezi, beautifully decorated in the colonial style, infinity pool, 4 bedrooms all to ourselves, own chef and waiter so no need to go to the lodge to eat.  Much much better than the lodge itself.  It was also great after 6 nights communal living in the safari camps to have a few quiet evenings to ourselves.  And one activity per day was just right, allowing us to have a sleep-in after the hectic (but wonderful) schedule of being on safari.

Kathryn Tierney
August 8, 2014

We were made to feel so welcome by every-one here – it was truly a great find! 

S Nunn
November 20, 2013

Wow what can I say? We have enjoyed every day of our wonderful trip to Botswana and Zambia. Although it was a relatively short trip we have had so many highlights it felt as though we were away much longer. The three camps/lodges were each very different so we had a real contrast- all special in different ways. We loved the elephants on the Chobe River, the isolation and beauty of the delta and the magnificence of the Victoria Falls. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly, the guides were fantastic and the transfers between camps all ran smoothly. Everything was so well organised for us that we were just able to relax and enjoy the experience.


It was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime but we are already talking about next time! We have decided that we must go on another safari holiday at some stage as we didn't manage to spot a leopard this time - well that's our excuse! Thank you for planning it all so efficiently and for your prompt responses to all my questions. You made the process very easy for us. With grateful thanks.

Jackie & Peter Plant
July 1, 2013
Review items: Zambia    

Loving South Luangwa Kirsten!! Having an amazing time. Thought the leopard stalking the warthog was the highlight until we watched three lionesses take down a buffalo and kill it yestrday evening right in front of us!! Amazing - a bit horrific but still quite amazing. We have seen so much, the accommodation and food etc is brilliant. So very happy and relaxed.

P Greenhill
June 6, 2013
Review items: Zambia    

This is just a short note to say a big thank you to you and Rainbow Tours for helping organize such a wonderful trip/honeymoon to Zambia. From start to finish the guidance on where to go and when was first class as was the continued assistance and problem solving during our trip that arose from the inevitable an unavoidable issues associated with traveling in Africa.

Both Norman Carr Safaris and The Bush Company were highly professional and run by friendly, warm and super knowledgeable staff. The guides were flexible and unfazed at answering a wide range of questions and in fact relished the chance of answering the unusual! We loved the bush camp style of accommodation with small groups in out of the way locations resulting in a very private experience. Whilst most people go Africa for the views and animals we cannot help but comment on the food – it was excellent and we were continually surprised at the wonderful creations coming out of the kitchens – most of which would not be out of place in a restaurant in London or our home town, Alicante, Spain.

Not to single anyone out, but a particular mention should go to Babette Alfieri and Phil Berry of Kuyenda Bushcamp. Whilst one of the simplest camps it was certainly one of our favourite, we could have stayed for ages – the traditional thatched grass huts and back-to-nature feel really struck a cord – set in a secluded location where the drama of the African plains plays out before your eyes with one of the most experienced guides in Zambia and the ever hospitable Babette by your side it is hard to top.

Put simply we are fans and would not hesitate to recommend Rainbow Tours and Zambia to others thinking of arranging a similar trip to Africa.

Mr & Mrs Corbally
October 25, 2012
Review items: Zambia    

Overall, a fabulous holiday. All worked perfectly well, the people were friendly & helful and the itinerary was excellent. The food on the Selinda Canoe Trail was particularly excellent. Thank you! 

Stayed at Islands of Siankaba ZAMBIA, Selinda Canoe Trail & Camp Okuti in Botswana. 

Hardy
October 2, 2012
Review items: Zambia    

A beautiful location, excellent hosts and staff for our wedding anniversary, we had wine, champagne and the honeymoon suite at La Plume.  We loved the South African people, they were so kind and helpful, all of them a very memorable holiday

Richard and Dipikaben Carter
February 1, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Kasaka River Lodge the service and food was outstanding. Great Holiday overall. Zambia was wonderful, Malawi was more of an 'experience' but enjoyable nonetheless.

Alex Davies
October 19, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Flatdogs camp, very friendly and helpful owners. Great Holiday overall. Zambia was wonderful, Malawi was more of an 'experience' but enjoyable nonetheless.

Alex Davies
October 19, 2011
Review items: Flatdogs Camp    

The transfers went like clockwork and all out guides were excellent. All the staff at Luangwa River Camp were superb the Safari experience was excellent, the food & accommodation was excellent.

Allingham
September 19, 2011

The Royal Livingstone is a wonderful place, maybe 6star. Your suggestions that we stay in one camp and not move around was absolutely right. Luanagwa River was excellent. We talked to other people passing from one camp to the next, we defiantly had a better safari holiday.

Allingham
September 19, 2011

Our guide was excellent and the game drives were truly rewarding.

Atkinson
September 16, 2011
Review items: Zambia    

The guides were all brilliant. It was a fantastic trip thank you for your excellent organisation. We enjoyed our stay at the Waterberry camp and found the staff very helpful.

Kevin and Lynda
September 15, 2011

Once we left Heathrow behind, every moment was a dream to savoir! One of our best holidays ever! Worth every penny.

J Frazer
August 30, 2011
Review items: Zambia    

Excellent service from Rainbow Tours with very clear and easy to follow itinerary. We had a honeymoon we will remember forever!
 

R Delaney
May 30, 2011
Review items: Zambia    

Beautiful, wonderful service and 5 star.

Author: R Delaney
May 30, 2011

Amazing Flatdogs Camp from start to finish!

Author: R Delaney
May 30, 2011
Review items: Flatdogs Camp    

What an incredible place!

Author: L Marmor
March 29, 2011

Very comfortable with excellent service, location and amenities.

K Foster
October 30, 2010

A really fantastic trip organised by Rainbow Tours

Author: R McBride
October 30, 2010

Excellent service, location and meals. [The few limitations] were more than compensated for by (the managers) and excellent staff. Chindeni Bush Camp – Full marks! Outstanding guide. Chamilandu Bush Camp – The hide for viewing game is a big bonus.

K Foster
October 30, 2010

We had an excellent trip, but with hindsight should have stayed the first and the last night in South Luangwa at Mfuwe Lodge…

E Battison
September 29, 2010
Review items: Zambia    

Excellent service, meals and location. Loved the bathtub!

E Battison
September 29, 2010
Review items: Kapamba Camp    

We had a wonderful time at Bushcamps. All staff were brilliant. Each Bushcamp had something unique to make each one memorable in its own right.

E Battison
September 29, 2010

Thank you so much for organising this fabulous trip! We all had a really wonderful time and have loads of fantastic memories. We are hoping to get involved with Project Luangwa and their school building programme so hopefully we will go back. Thanks again.

Author: Lyons Family
August 31, 2010
Review items: Flatdogs Camp    

The lodge is in an excellent location. It is comfortable, with good service and meals.

J Farr
July 30, 2010

An exceptionally comfortable lodge at Tongabezi. The service, meals and location were all of good quality.

Author: J Farr
July 30, 2010

What a faultless, wonderful holiday we’ve had [at Indigo Bay in Mozambique and Royal Zambezi Lodge in Zambia] Many thanks for suggesting where we went and also providing a faultless and wonderful service!

Author: S Crowe Date published: 30/07/10
July 30, 2010

A first-rate camp in all regards.

Author: J Farr
July 30, 2010

Outstanding comfort, service, meals, location and facilities.

Author: J Farr
July 30, 2010

Simply superb in all aspects.

J Farr
July 30, 2010

Could not find fault with anything! Meals [were] beautiful and staff always friendly and keen to please. Overall I had a wonderful holiday, thank you! I definitely recommend Rainbow Tours plus Norman Carr Safaris to a friend.

Author: C Redman
June 30, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Zambia, it was a great experience. We loved all the lodges and camps where we stayed and they were all a bit different to each other. Tafika was probably our favorite even though the most simple accommodation. We are already looking forward to our next holiday with you to Madagascar in the autumn!

L Markus
June 29, 2010
Review items: Zambia    

We were extremely grateful for the care with which our itinerary was drawn up by (Rainbow Tours).

F Good
May 30, 2010
Review items: Zambia    

Could not be faulted!

Author: F Good
May 30, 2010

Rainbow Tours were very helpful. The instructions sent were perfect. All [the transfers in Mozambique and Zambia] were on time and ran very smoothly. Excellent service from Rainbow Tours.

S. Galloway
September 29, 2009
Review items: Zambia    

Lovely people who couldn’t do enough for us at Royal Zambezi Lodge.

Author: Templeton
May 24, 2009
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137