South Africa Reviews

'Best holiday ever!

Clarendon Bantry Bay: beautiful hotel. Too busy to use the pool!.

Ocean Eleven Guest House: beautiful.

De Zeekoe Guest Farm: fab location & meerkats and ostrich safari

Leisure Isle Lodge: Cher  was brilliant; really made a fuss of me on my birthday.

Inyati Private Game Reserve: BEST THREE DAYS EVER!!!

Best holiday ever. All organisation and activities perfect. Lee was brilliant with her bookings and coordination of the whole trip in conjunction with you guys. Thank you - a 50th birthday never to forget! Great additional info from you guys too'.

Mr and Mrs Marks
December 9, 2015

Transfers were top notch; we were treated as special guests with 5 star service on all transfers. Lazarus was an amazing safari park ranger, very knowledgeable and never wrong with his identification of birds and wildlife. He could spot anything when travelling through the park, whether it was daylight or dark. Grant provided us with the perfect package, the safari was excellent and the hotel in Mauritius was fantastic. We would like to thank Grant for putting together a special holiday which met all of our needs. The service from him was top class as well as the holiday itself where everyone we met, from hotel or safari lodge staff to the drivers and assistants on each transfer were so helpful and friendly; the whole trip went smoothly and without a single problem. Well done and thank you.

T. and J. Hood
February 23, 2015
Review items: South Africa    

We had a great trip. The directions for car travel were particularly good and appreciated. Many thanks!

Stephen Bull
February 12, 2015
Review items: South Africa    

The safari and stay at Savanna Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way – we cannot recommend highly enough. We had a wonderful holiday in South Africa and plan to return!

G. Powell
February 2, 2015

A beautiful room (No.2) and Emmy’s welcome and attentive service made this a lovely place to stay. Delicious afternoon tea!

G. Powell
February 2, 2015

We felt the V&A Waterfront was the perfect place to be based in Cape Town as you could walk out and around with no problems even at night. Thank you so much to Kirsten for organising such a good tour for us.

T Beezer and S Eales
October 30, 2014
Review items: South Africa    

Pumba Msenga Bush Lodge - Superlative all round – game viewing, food, facilities.

R Taylor
October 30, 2014

Thank you Kirsten for orchestrating what we will remember as a holiday of a lifetime. Your recommendations were spot on and we have been ‘singing your praises’ to everyone. Thank you for helping to arrange a visit to Hamilton Russell – what a fabulous day. We were lucky with our stay at Gondwana because we had a number of game drives and could see the animals. Some mornings were misty and if you only had one drive you might have come away having seen lots of clouds. Meals there were a real mix– from superb to buffet style. We loved it.

J & H Follows
October 27, 2014
Review items: South Africa    

Shamwari Long Lee Manor is outstanding! Excellent service in all respects. The highlight of our holiday, despite some rainy days.

D Burn
October 10, 2014

We had a great trip and would recommend.

Mr Bratt
August 7, 2014
Review items: South Africa    

We loved Notten’s Bush Camp and it suited us perfectly. Lovely pool and friendly attentive staff. They were so helpful with our wheelchair and getting us out onto game drives. We saw wild dogs twice (sleeping and hunting), leopards (including a female carrying her cub), a cheetah with kill, as well as numerous other game. Our guide was a little too focussed on always seeing the Big Five but that is what most people want. The food at Nottens was excellent and plentiful, and our room was clean and comfortable.

Mr. Robert Biddle
April 2, 2014

Could not have been more welcoming or accommodating.

Mr Grainger
April 2, 2014
Review items: Four Rosmead    

A superb experience! Even though there was no swimming pool, there was no much time to enjoy the facilities because of the two safaris a day.

Andrea & Ray Valins
April 2, 2014

Amazing location, very luxurious lodges, lots of viewing of animals! Saw all Big Five.

Ms Alyshah Jetha
April 2, 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly.

R Doig
January 12, 2014

Superb – exceeded out expectations. Drivers wonderful and saw many more animals than expected (and closer than expected). 

L Turner
December 21, 2013

This was a great recommendation from Inken. We would never have known about it otherwise, and it was perfect for us. The accommodation was excellent, and the breakfast was outstanding. It was a little hard to get a dinner in the hotel restaurant, but we managed, and it was excellent. 

S Nunn
November 20, 2013

Overall it was an outstanding tour, well thought through with plenty of variety. We had plenty of time at all the venues. Both tour guides went out of their way to ensure we saw as much as possible. 

R Powell
November 17, 2013
Review items: South Africa    

I’m still astonished that they manage to combine the most first-rate efficiency and excellence with a genuine ‘family’ atmosphere  - and  Giraffes!

D McCall
November 16, 2013

This was an astonishing holiday, with the original itinerary determined by my need to complete research for my third novel. But Candice succeeded in taking this initial plan and ‘bolting on’ all the extras that turned the experience into the best holiday of our lives . 

D McCall
November 16, 2013
Review items: South Africa    

A lot to do in this area so a 2 night stay in the itinerary would have been nice

L O'Neill
November 13, 2013

Fantastic owner/manager and staff. Very personable and attentive with 3 excellent recommendations for meals out. Always there with tea/coffee and cake whenever we came in late pm/evening.

S Woodhouse
October 26, 2013

Upgrade again to the villa – fantastic accommodation. Loved the communal dining in evening. Would liked to have stayed longer!

D & R Northampton
October 26, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer!

D & R Northampton
October 26, 2013

From the very first telephone call you could not have been more helpful. Everything was done to perfection the ‘wildcard’ seemed to make check into camps easier. We just wish that we had found you earlier in our travels. Thank you. 

N & R Willis
October 1, 2013
Review items: South Africa    

The managers at the Clarendon deserves special mention – superb recommendations for dinner and she even brought us early morning tea in bed. 

Dr Waterfall
September 24, 2013

You couldn’t ask for a better welcome, we arrived early and  were given coffee and a snack. All the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hot water bottles were a bonus. 

S Reeves
September 8, 2013
Review items: Welgelegen    

Just the best of the best, the location couldn’t be beaten. Gideon was incredibly helpful, he had son many suggestions for places to see, even on our drive back to Cape Town. Nico, made us all smile and his knowledge of whales was amazing. Breakfast delicious and their special tea not to be missed. 

S Reeves
September 8, 2013
Review items: Cliff Lodge    

Great location, but we only stayed a night.

P & A Micottis
September 5, 2013

WOW!

Dr Milner
August 30, 2013

A true 5* experience if not really 5* meals (however some food was v. good). We had a deluxe compartment although I didn’t realise till the end. It was very comfortable, and our maid was very attentive and it was spotless……. it needs a bit more promotion in the UK!

S Longford
July 27, 2013
Review items: Rovos Rail    

This has been a fantastic holiday from beginning to end. All accommodation has been superb. Our safari was out of this world. We would stay at all the properties again [Trevoyan Guest House, Whale Rock Lodge, Bitou River Lodge & Amakhala Woodbury Lodge] and use Rainbow Tours for future holidays. Chania has been very attentive all through the booking of this holiday. Everything went very smoothly. Thank you.

I & K Appleton
March 29, 2013
Review items: South Africa    

Our safari driver was excellent and really looked after us. All the staff at Woodbury Lodge were very kind and helpful.

I & K Appleton
March 29, 2013

A wonderful holiday expertly put together. We expect to return to South Africa again within a couple of years and will certainly use Rainbow again. Kirsten couldn’t have been more helpful, thank you. 

Nelder
February 4, 2013
Review items: South Africa    

Such a brilliant place, amazing service and equisite food.

Johnston
October 3, 2012

Wow – what food. Sumptuous breakfasts and dinners, and fortunately we like walking and so could take a bit of exercise to make room for the next meal! …Being in the mountains, the weather was mixed and cold at night.  We loved it, though.

Patricia R
May 2, 2012

We are so pleased we were persuaded to go there and not anywhere else. Our 3 nights there was the highlight of our 3 weeks away and was a very special experience. Andrew Rattray (David’s son) is now more or less in charge, and listening to people who knew David, apparently Andrew is just as good as his father at telling the stories. Magical, and we didn’t want to leave.

Patricia R
May 2, 2012

Fantastic in every respect. [We wish we] stayed there for [all of] our 6 nights on the coast!

Patricia R
May 2, 2012

Thank you for organising a great trip to South Africa for us.  Everything worked perfectly, and we had a lovely and varied holiday.

Patricia R
May 2, 2012
Review items: South Africa    

La Plume was excellent we were given the honemoon suite which was great!

John and Janet Driscoll,
February 1, 2012
Review items: La Plume    

We had a fantastic holiday, everywhere we went knew that we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary, we had wine, champagne and the honeymoon suite at La Plume.  We loved the South African people, they were so kind and helpful, all of them a very memorable holiday

John and Janet Driscoll February 2012
February 1, 2012
Review items: South Africa    

Ants Hill Waterberg has the best personal service, a home from home with superb meals.

Lazanas
December 3, 2011

Kensington Place Cape Town is Superb Hotel.

Lazanas
December 3, 2011

De Zeekoe, one of the most memorable experiences seeing meerkats at dawn. Premier Classe Train, an excellent trip highly recommendable. We would highly recommend.

Adams
November 7, 2011

Trevoyan Guest House made available by 930am after we arrived at 830am, this was really apprciated.

Masters
November 4, 2011

We were very impressed by Akademin Guesthouse.

Masters
November 4, 2011
My husband and I have recently returned from a marvellous two weeks in South Africa. We travelled independently starting in Cape Town, then by car to Clanwilliam in the Cedarberg, the Winelands, and finally Hermanus. Everything was extremely well organised, and the accommodation in each case was first class. This was our third visit to South Africa, and I am sure we shall return!
A Walker
October 24, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

Excellent. Tranquil, welcoming and luxurious. Wish we’d spent longer. 

C Williams
October 15, 2011

We had a wonderful holiday. The Winchester Mansions had wonderful breakfast and an excellent free shuttle service to and from the waterfront

Walker
September 25, 2011

The service from Rainbow Tours went without a hitch we had a brilliant time throughout our journey.

Oligschlager
September 14, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

Excellent service within comfortable surroundings

M Oligschlager
September 14, 2011

Cheetah Plains is a fantastic place with excellent service and meals, with great facilities all within a superbly comfortable setting.

M Oligschlager
September 14, 2011

Simply brilliant!

M Oligschlager
September 14, 2011
Review items: Mkhaya    

Isandwana Lodge was one of our 3 favourite lodges of the trip, well organised, great location, friendly service from management all the way down to the porters, Fantastic historian, Rob Gerrard to explain the 2 battlefields, very good accommodation.

Peter Goodall
September 11, 2011

Kosi forist lodge had the best standard of food on the whole trip.

Peter Goodall
September 11, 2011

The Lalaria Lodge is very hand for the airport with great & very helpful hosts and good location for sea views

Peter Goodall
September 11, 2011
Review items: Lalaria Lodge    

The location was slightly remote, but not a problem for us as we had a hire car. Dinner was excellent.

Author: J Woods & R Mackenzie
May 30, 2011
Review items: La Plume    

Sue was a wonderful host!

J Woods & R Mackenzie
May 30, 2011

Amakhala Game Reserve is a very special place to stay. Mnoni (our guide) was outstanding, very knowledgeable, great company & above all and excellent tracker to ensure we saw all the animals.

Author: J Woods & R Mackenzie
May 30, 2011

The room at La Plume was lovely and the bathroom very decadent… Great fun to visit the ostriches...

Author: Mr Craik-White
April 29, 2011
Review items: La Plume    

We thoroughly enjoyed Phantom Forest. A very unique experience and we would have loved to stay for two nights.

Mr Craik-White
April 29, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Cheetah Plains made us feel special for our honeymoon with a candlelit dinner for two.

Author: Z Spyvee
April 29, 2011

Excellent service, local knowledge and dining recommendations.

J Woods & R Mackenzie
April 2, 2011
The service and documentation from Rainbow Tours for our South Garden Route Africa holiday was excellent. Amakhala, Bitou River Lodge (amazing breakfast), La Plume, Trevoyan and Cathberts were all excellent!
S. Noble
March 30, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

What a superb experience!

L Marangos
March 29, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

Our ranger at Kariega Game Reserve was very knowledgeable and stimulating, even at 6am!

J Penman
March 29, 2011

Simply superb!

Author: L Marangos
March 29, 2011

Beautiful location, [with] very good, friendly service, [and] excellent food at Rissington Inn.

JM Cresswell
March 29, 2011

An outstanding safari experience. We have been recommending it enthusiastically ever since!

Author: JM Cresswell
March 29, 2011

We were without transport and they organised taxis, restaurants and trips with the minimum of fuss and always finding the best options. Excellent food and accommodation and the delightful garden was a bonus. Hope to return very soon.

J Mears
March 10, 2011
Review items: Four Rosmead    

After travel delays we arrived very late in the evening at Jatinga Country Lodge- no problem at all to the wonderful staff. Sandwiches, fries and a pot of tea appeared within minutes. To recuperate between activities we spent one whole day walking the grounds or sitting and soaking up the views, while the staff were most attentive.

Author: J Mears
March 10, 2011
Your service and documentation was excellent - Useful information and a clear
P Murrells
February 28, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

We stayed at delightful boutique hotels in South Africa. Trevoyan in Cape Town, Rovos Rail, Birdwood Boutiques in Pretoria and Rissington Inn [in Hazyview] are all excellent. Service and documentation by (Rainbow Tours) was excellent.

C Queen
February 28, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

Service and documentation by (Rainbow Tours) is excellent - Useful information and a clear itinerary, [with] clear instructions to find each guesthouse.

P Murrells
February 28, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

Afton Grove [in Cape Town] was as always, excellent. Protea King George [in George] also very good, as before. This is why we come back to Rainbow Tours and South Africa! 

D Grahame
February 28, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

(Our consultant) was extremely helpful especially during the planning stage. Excellent service from Rainbow Tours. 

R. Lush
February 28, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

Thank you (to Rainbow Tours) for a wonderful holiday [on the Garden Route]. All worked superbly and your recommendations were spot on. Much appreciated. 

A Richardson
February 28, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

All hotel, B&B Guest House accommodation excellent… Fantastic holiday. Highly recommended

A Anderson
February 28, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

Lovely room, excellent manager. The location means that you must eat in the hotel. [We had] an interesting tour of the ostrich farm.

Author: A Richardson
February 28, 2011
Review items: La Plume    

Very interesting area. Again, most welcoming and helpful staff, giving us plenty of ideas of where to visit and what to do. The tour of the farm by guesthouse owner was fascinating.

Author: P Murrells
February 28, 2011
Review items: La Plume    

Hog Hollow Country Lodge is a very special place; wonderful staff and service. Highly recommended!

A Richardson
February 28, 2011

Beautiful location. Very friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Lovely swimming pool.

P Murrells
February 28, 2011

We loved it here. It was very friendly and relaxed, with high standards of service and comfort. I can't imagine that a more expensive lodge would have offered anything else we could have wanted - and they probably provide quite a lot that we wouldn't want! We felt that all the staff worked as a team to make you feel at home there, and were only too ready to stop for a chat at any time. On our second morning, we were the only people wanting a game drive, so we had our own private tour which lasted nearly four hours, and included 45 minutes with a couple of cheetah: magic!

Author: S & J Bradley
February 28, 2011

For us this was an ideal location within the national game reserve. The decor of the chalet was a little tired, but it was well equipped, so we were able to self-cater very easily. The shop was closed while we were there, but we didn't get the impression in had much by way of food, so were glad we had shopped on the way. We didn't try the restaurant, but the menu suggested that it provides a good buffet. Similarly, we didn't go on any of their game drives, but drove ourselves. Our 2x4 was good for this, but I am sure a normal car would have been fine too. We saw plenty of game, including lots of white rhino. Only one family of lion, but we had understood that this isn't the ideal place for big cats. We liked the spaciousness of the Camp site, with lots of greenery and a nice swimming pool.

S & J Bradley
February 28, 2011
Review items: Hilltop Camp    

Akademie Street is very convenient for the town, yet peaceful. A wonderful holiday and would recommend Rainbow Tours to others.

Author: P Murrells
February 28, 2011

Full marks for service, comfort, meals location and service!

A Anderson
February 28, 2011

Rissington Inn is a good location for exploring Blyde River Canyon. Provision for packed breakfast and lunch was very good. Garden suite prefect room for a start to our honeymoon.

M. Banham
February 28, 2011

Everything was excellent at Cheetah Plains. New investments, for example safari vehicle and bathroom appreciated

A Barnard
February 28, 2011

Top marks at Umlani Bushcamp for service, meals and location.

A Barnard
February 28, 2011

Cape Grace was the best hotel we have ever stayed in – it was faultless.

RJ Davies
February 16, 2011
Review items: Cape Grace    

The meals were delicious, but potions were a little small, otherwise it was superb and the staff delightful.

RJ Davies
February 16, 2011
A wonderful super holiday well planned and delivered to plan. All involved shall be congratulated.
B Jackson
January 31, 2011
Review items: South Africa    

The One&Only Hotel [in Cape Town] was superb!

Author: B Jackson
January 31, 2011

Cathbert Country Inn is a lovely place to stay.

T Bridle
January 31, 2011

We loved this Cliff Lodge! Everything was excellent!

T Bridle
January 31, 2011
Review items: Cliff Lodge    

We loved Hog Hollow – amazing place, so much to do and we felt very comfortable here.

R Whitehead & family
November 30, 2010
I had a brilliant holiday. Thank you so much for organising it for me.
H Blake
October 31, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Wow, this was a real treasure, first class in every aspect.

C Williams
October 30, 2010

Great value, excellent hospitality and the wildlife cooperated.

C Williams
October 30, 2010

Our consultant’s knowledge and advice put together a great first trip. Well documented from the outset. A great thank you for working with us to design this trip. SA was an amazing place to visit; only problem was trying to fit everything in. [Our consultant] advised us that we needed more time and now we know why.

D Darke
October 30, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Exceptional comfort and services. We received a warm welcome and had a very enjoyable stay.

D Darke
October 30, 2010

Comfortable at D'Oreale Grande, and with good meals. Very pleasant hotel, room and breakfast were good.

D Darke
October 30, 2010

Superb meals at 12 Apostles Hotel & Spa

Author: D Pye
October 30, 2010

We can’t speak highly enough, lovely staff, gorgeous food, fantastic location and accommodation. A definite must for families.

R Wild
October 30, 2010

Lovely lodge, very personal and friendly, we would go back.

Author: R Wild
October 30, 2010

New owners but high level of dedicated service and excellent meals.

Author: J Bateman
October 30, 2010

Fantastic location, lovely food and helpful staff and owner at Lavender Manor. Would love to return.

R Wild
October 30, 2010

First class luxurious accommodation at Tswalu Kalahari. Staff friendly and attentive.

D Pye
October 30, 2010

Akademie Street in Franschoek – Just wonderful.

A Speller
October 20, 2010

The staff were very helpful. We were able to watch whales whilst having breakfast. 

W Wood
October 10, 2010
Review items: Ocean Eleven    

Great service and his and hers toilet rolls at The Hideaway – a first! Super restaurants and fantastic wet-room.

W Wood
October 10, 2010
Review items: The Hideaway    

We loved staying at this property, everything had been thought of for comfort. Meals were delicious. The farm tours were excellent and informative.

W Wood
October 10, 2010
Review items: La Plume    

We had a brilliant experience, and excellent meals. We also enjoyed the entertainment. 

W Wood
October 10, 2010

Akademie Street Guesthouses is really superb.

W Wood
October 10, 2010

An excellent trip made all the better by the smooth and efficient travel arrangements. We may never have a better experience.

M Greenfield
October 3, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Belvidere Manor was excellent. Very comfortable and large chalets. We enjoyed our stay here.

B Instance
October 1, 2010

Every part of this holiday went really well. Thanks to [Rainbow Tours] for setting it all up. It’s the first time we’ve used your company but it won’t be the last. Many thanks again.

J Isaacs
September 30, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Every part of this holiday went really well. Thanks to [Rainbow Tours] for setting it all up. It’s the first time we’ve used your company but it won’t be the last. Many thanks again.

J Isaacs
September 30, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

This has been a superb holiday from beginning to end. Thank you for all your help in putting an excellent itinerary together for us.

R Philpott
September 30, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Overall excellent stay. Amazing place and great value for money.

A Roberts
September 29, 2010

Excellent service… Kirsten was great at all times. The country and the safaris exceeded our expectations.
 

S Ford
August 31, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

The country and the safaris exceeded our expectations. South Africa and safaris are “so us” according to the children! 

S Ford
August 31, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Staff fantastic at De Zeehoe Guest Farm. Excellent location and facilities.

Harris Family
August 30, 2010

Very isolated. A beautiful setting, (but we) didn’t stay very long.

R Tweddle
August 30, 2010

Amakhosi Safari Lodge was the best place to stay. We all would love to go back. The best service by far.

J Sinclair
August 30, 2010

Wonderful experience.

R Tweddle
August 30, 2010
Review items: Ocean Eleven    

Fantastic! Our second stay here and hopefully not our last.

R Staff
August 30, 2010

First rate comfort, service, meals and amenities.

R Tweddle
August 30, 2010

Can’t tell you how great we thought it was - an excellent safari stay.

J McCrea
July 31, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

The staff friendliness & general atmosphere as well as the service & quality of meals were outstanding.

Levitt
July 31, 2010

The service, meals and location are excellent at Kosi Forest Lodge. The amenities are also good.

D & S Capstick
July 30, 2010

The camp is comfortable, and the meals and service are both good. Excellent meals and location.

D & S Capstick
July 30, 2010

Excellent service. Perfect location and fantastic ranger. Notten’s really is a wonderful place.

J Falconer
July 30, 2010

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Lovely surroundings. Excellent staff.... we had a wonderful time!

B Evans
June 29, 2010
Review items: The Vineyard    

Our consultant listened to what we wanted and delivered it efficiently. This is the second time I have used Rainbow Tours and will do too again. 

T Taylor
June 9, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Absolutely superb. We wish we were still there.

E Johnson
April 29, 2010

The owners Katherine and Arthur are consummate hosts and have equipped this beautiful guest house with every considerable item. Franschhoek is fantastic for those who wish to walk to dinner or shops.

Author: J Ryan
March 30, 2010

We had an excellent first trip to South Africa with all arrangements working as per the itinerary.

H Aitken
March 29, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

Thank you for organization (our) trip. All went well and we had a superb time.

M.Wood
March 29, 2010
Review items: South Africa    
So far as the service offered by Rainbow was concerned, this is the first time we have used you, but we were very impressed. We are very grateful to [Rainbow Tours] for taking the time to plan the tour with us, and for being so ready to incorporate our suggestions... We were very impressed by the package of paperwork which arrived before our departure and which we found very useful. Once in South Africa, everything ran very smoothly, with no trouble with any of the bookings for accommodation or travel.
S & J Bradley
February 28, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

We stayed at delightful boutique hotels in South Africa. Trevoyan in Cape Town, Rovos Rail, Birdwood Boutiques in Pretoria and Rissington Inn in Hazyview are all excellent. Service and documentation was excellent.

C Queen
February 28, 2010
Review items: South Africa    

The staff at Four Rosmead were extremely helpful providing advice with dinner and travel arrangements.

R. Lush
February 28, 2010
Review items: Four Rosmead    

Excellent Location for exploring Cape Town and surrounding area. There are plenty of restaurants nearby on Kloof Street. Christophe the owner was very helpful. Breakfast provided a good choice.

M. Banham
February 28, 2010

We were upgraded to a Lakeside Villa, excellent dinner, very good value for money. Breakfast choice was excellent

M. Banham
February 28, 2010

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Good location for exploring Northern Durban. We received complimentary champagne for our honeymoon on arrival at Lalaria Lodge. Good recommendations of local restaurants and attractions. Breakfast is cooked fresh and very good selection.

Author: M. Banham
February 28, 2010
Review items: Lalaria Lodge    

Cathbert Country Inn is off the beaten track but a hidden gem. Beautiful location with excellent views! Knowlegable staff provided good recommendation of a cellar tour! Good pool...

Author: M. Banham
February 28, 2010

Welcoming and helpful host. Lovely rooms, ideal location. Really enjoyed our stay. This is my second experience of Rainbow Tours and I would use you again and recommend you to anyone. A very reliable and trustworthy company.

N Bassant
January 11, 2010

Welcoming and helpful host. Lovely rooms, ideal location. Really enjoyed our stay.

N Bassant
January 1, 2010

Really surprised how nice this place is. Lovely gardens – a little oasis! Lovely room – sorry it was for one night only.

A D Smith
September 29, 2009

Lovely setting overlooking lagoon. Stayed in a lovely suite. Knysna very nice place indeed. Beautiful, stunning scenery.

A D Smith
September 29, 2009

Very well done, colonial style lodge & well thought out. Unfortunately, a little quiet, not many staying, not much atmosphere. Good and close to Elephant Park for game viewing. Guides available.

A D Smith
September 29, 2009

Loved it! Wonderful experience at Notten's Bush Camp. Wonderful game viewing – saw all the Big Five! Service, food, hospitality excellent! Would have preferred a little more luxury in room but still good. Perfect end to our holiday. Atmosphere at camp in evening memorable! Thanks so much, Rainbow Tours – good job! Amazing holiday. Loved South Africa. Would love to go back one day.

A D Smith
September 29, 2009

Excellent. Really enjoyed being at Hog Hollow. Warm, fabulous room, fires, engaging staff. Special place which went the extra mile. We enjoyed the communal meals after being on our own for so long. Help available for planning day trips … was proactive.

K Falls
September 19, 2009

Very good. Design of the garden courtyard off-putting but the lakeside-facing room was fine. Excellent service, meals and facilities.

K Falls
September 17, 2009

Excellent Rosenhof Country Lodge. Evening meal was superb and really comfortable room and public rooms.

K Falls
September 14, 2009

Excellent location but, in comparison with other guest houses, the service was “colder” and seemed less interested in their guests.

K Falls
September 12, 2009
Review items: Ocean Eleven    

Beautiful boutique hotel. Nicely situated. Nothing too much trouble. Attention to detail very good indeed. Would recommend without hesitation.

A D Smith
September 9, 2009

Wonderful hosts & great relaxing hotel. Again very remote so dined in most nights. Plenty to do in area during day.

A Tims
August 26, 2009

Perfect for a night prior to Addo Park visit. Excursion excellent.

A Tams
August 26, 2009

We stayed at Leeuwenbosch (Amakhala Game Reserve) and although they were quite the opposite (fully-booked), we really felt welcome and cared for. We couldn't have stayed any more than the 3 days as we would have exploded due to all the food and drink, and the owner (Bill) is an absolute character. The game drives were excellent and, in retrospect, the only thing we would have done differently would be to not opt for the Tusker package as it was a long slog to see some elephants (and lots of warthogs), and we saw lots of lovely elephants at Amakhala anyway...

Author: M, M & H Clark
August 3, 2009

Guides at Arathusa Safari Lodge were amazing - totally professional and friendly. Their knowledge was boundless about the animals, plants, trees and terrain, and star constellations in Andre’s case. Overall excellent.

Walters
July 24, 2009

We had a wonderful time on honeymoon thank you. L, and I both agreed that the Safari at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge was the highlight of the trip. We had a lovely time there and did not want to come away. It was an amazing experience, and one that we will not forget.

The people at Buffalo Ridge were really warm and friendly and it was really interesting to chat to them about the game reserve, lodge, life and of course the animals. The lodge itself was lovely and they made really nice effort to make things special for us on our honeymoon by decorating our lodge with candles and petals and providing us with a bottle of wine on our last night.

And of course being on safari and being so close to the animals was a fantastic thing, especially on our last drive when we were tracking a female lioness hunting warthogs, then catching a glimpse ... of a leopard in the bush.

So thank you once again for all your help. Hopefully we will get opportunity to do another safari at some point and when we do I will let you know. :-)

P Norrey
July 12, 2009

Very good food at Cleopatra Mountain Farmhoue. Not really enough to do for more than a couple of days though unless you are keen on hiking.

T Taylor
June 9, 2009

In some ways [Fugitives Drift was] the high spot of the trip. You need two nights at least (we had three) and I would hire a robust car. We upgraded to an XTrail which enabled us to take some trips from the lodge without worrying about the potholes. Excellent tours of the Battlefields.

T Taylor
June 9, 2009

Stunning location & accommodation – perfect spot for a honeymoon! Staff were excellent.

Author: J & J Atkinson
April 19, 2009

Beautiful lodge – short walk to lovely beach – very quiet and peaceful. Great managers, Frank & Eileen, who made us so welcome & very, very kind – couldn’t do enough – even took us shopping one day.

Author: S Brown
April 3, 2009
Review items: Lalaria Lodge    

A wonderful place – we were upgraded to the main house. Owner helpful.

Parker
January 11, 2009

Were very helpful with gluten free diet.

Wilkinson
January 8, 2009
Review items: Cape Grace    

Excellent. Very good hotel, with friendly service and good value for money. Murray Cairns and his wife came to pick us up … and was a good guide. We had another tour with his company to see some wildlife and to view some rock art. The Sani pass tour was fantastic: the scenary was astonishing as were some of the roads (really dreadful) and we had a good day. Murray's Sani Pass Tours are to be recommended. We very much liked Moorcroft with friendly staff, good food and prices and lovely outlook.

A Pye
December 25, 2008

Roof-top viewing of whales was excellent with easy walk to Guetto Beach. Although [the hotel] is not in Hermanus itself, so a drive to restaurants is required.

J Watson
October 27, 2008

Completely idyllic - loved every moment. Food service was outstanding, location beautiful and tents rustic but luxurious

Hunt
September 21, 2008
Review items: Tanda Tula    

The Vineyard is a super hotel, excellent breakfasts. Ideal spot for seeing all the sights. Went to Colombe for dinner – outstanding.

Coade family
February 13, 2008
Review items: The Vineyard    

A little dated, but still beautiful surroundings. Constantia Uitsig restaurant meal was beautiful, service excellent. La Colombe restaurant meal was also delicious but service was below standard expected.

K Fekete
January 13, 2008

Would love to go again and have already recommended The Bay Hotel already.

O’Loughlin
December 12, 2007
Review items: The Bay Hotel    

Again, stunning scenery and lovely accommodation. More informal. Went in pool here quite a bit – amazing setting. Loved it here. Few animals on game drives, but enjoyed hide.

J Stockwin
August 14, 2007

Leopard Hills Game Lodge excellent all round. 5 star all the way.

L & A Bailey
April 12, 2007

We received a double upgrade to one of the top suites. The staff at Hunters Country House treated us fantastically. A wonderful place to stay for total relaxation and great food. Very good value for money in October.

S Vickers
October 27, 2005

A wonderful place!

Bratt

Inken was a real star – we could not have asked for better :-)

D Pointer & T Kelly

The variety of destinations on this self-drive holiday was excellent.

Mr John Lowther
Review items: South Africa    
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137