Sierra Leone Reviews

Great accommodation - loved Christo. Service, meals and location excellent.

Stoakes
January 18, 2014

Thank you Rob for all the arrangements you made....the choice of guide and driver...were excellent.  They knew what they were expected to do and then did it well.  We felt very safe with them.  Abdulai took good care of us and was flexible and cooperative if we wanted to do something different.  Idrissa drove well and carefully...I would highly recommend both of them for any future visits.

Hotel Barmoi was a really good idea for our first and last night in Sierra Leone, but we were so pleased otherwise to be in guesthouses or lodges of one sort or another for the other nights. They were all different and charming and provided all that was necessary for our comfort.  We were of course hot on nights when there was no air cooling system but would not have wanted it any other way.   The food was good and plenty of it.

Gola East had not expected us so that was in a bit of a state, but that is where Abdulai, Idrissa and a local man proved their worth… it was a really good experience and I know all our hearts were engaged in that country and  we might well individually  like to return in the future knowing we would find something pretty different.

Patti Price
April 7, 2013
Review items: Sierra Leone    

We will definitely use Rainbow Tours again (we understand the difficulties in visiting developing nations). Your local representatives seemed to be a competent and caring operator.

Gaugh
January 14, 2013
Review items: Sierra Leone    

I just wanted to  tell you what a great time we had in Sierra Leone.  The guides and drivers were very good and were very helpful when we missed the boat back  to the airport, their boss soon had another boat organised.  No 2 beach guest house was basic but the food was good and the people were very friendly.  Again Francos was good.  We also liked the first hotel we stayed in in Freetown, the Country Lodge. I think it is Rwanda next time. Thank you! 

 

Mr and Mrs Hughes
December 3, 2012
Review items: Sierra Leone    

The service and documentation [from Rainbow Tours] for our Sierra Leone holiday were very good. Our drivers [in Sierra Leone] were excellent.

M Diggins
January 31, 2011
Review items: Sierra Leone    

The location at No.2 Beach Guesthouse is very good. Meals are good but limited choice. No electricity until after dark and then off by 6am, but we had torches.

M Diggins
January 31, 2011

The whole experience was brilliant. From our very first e-mail contact Rainbow have been attentive, knowledgeable and keen to provide the very best service. The [people on the ground] were awesome. They made the travel hassle free, provided a unique insight into the country and helped out with any request we made. The country was beautiful and the people wonderful.

Jenner Date
November 16, 2010
Review items: Sierra Leone    

Everything at Tacugama Chimpanzee was clean and tidy and well set up. We arranged to have a local meal on the first night, which was fantastic. In reality the location of this place was the real draw and having breakfast in the forest was amazing.

Jenner
November 16, 2010

We’ve had the most fantastic time in Sierra Leone and are singing the praises of the team who looked after us so well. We weren’t used to that kind of looking after! Alaya, who was our guide, is so informative and passionate about tourism in his country and we learnt a lot from him.

J Moor
January 31, 2010
Review items: Sierra Leone    

Stayed at Lungi Airport Hotel, Country Lodge Hotel, Tiwai & Gola 

P & F Martin
November 10, 2009
Review items: Sierra Leone    

Everywhere we felt we were getting the highest quality that could be afforded. People were excellent.

J Thomas
October 19, 2009
Review items: Sierra Leone    

Fantastic holiday and very well organised. A great destination with very friendly welcoming locals in all of the places we visited. 

C Thomas
March 10, 2009
Review items: Sierra Leone    

Room needed refurbishment! Service very slow. Negotiated price [of boat trip] down from $35 each to £12.50 each – still seemed a little overpriced. Beach – amazing! And surf board hire available. The cleanest beach we visited.

C Thomas
March 10, 2009

Excellent comfort, service, meals, location & facilities. Amazing community feel and they always tried very hard. Well run and organised. Local community very positive about the guest house which added to the feel of staying there. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Good walking tour and well organised and interesting boat tour. As vegans we were very pleased that a special chef was there throughout the stay. Good exchange rate offered for sterling.

C Thomas
March 10, 2009
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137