Amy Wheeler
Amy Wheeler Africa Travel Specialist
"Mauritius is ideal for an easy beach break when your main focus is to relax. It suits couples, families, honeymooners … just about everyone. It’s even fun to explore the interior by hire car."
Mauritius

Mauritius Reviews

'Hi Helen,

Thank you very much for your email, and even more for setting us up for such an amazing honeymoon.

We loved staying at Andasibe Hotel (and we really liked Maison Gallieni too).

The local guide in Madagascar, Dennis, was excellent, and so was the driver. We would thoroughly recommend them to anyone going there. Dennis is extremely knowledgeable, and provided us guidance on what we could have done in the park while leaving us time and space for us to make up our own mind on what would work best for us.

Unfortunately having only two full days to spend in the area meant that we could not visit the Mantadia park, also because the quickest road leading there has been badly damaged by the cyclone and access was very difficult. Going back in time we would probably like to spend another day there, but this is our fault... We loved the excursions in the Andasibe park both during the day and at night, and we got to see two Indri families and several Sifaka from a close distance.

Thank you for flagging up the tree planting activities organised by Mitsinjo: we felt it was a really worthwhile cause, and we think this should really be promoted among tourists going to Andasibe.

On the way back to Tana before taking the flight to Mauritius, Dennis also made sure that we could spend some time in a souvenir shop, so that we could get something for friends and relatives.

As for Mauritius, Trou aux Biches is fabulous, and thank you for recommending it to us! The beach is stunning, and so are the scenery and the food. The beach would be even better if they managed to move the motor boats away, as one local beach vendor told us they are already planning to do, as they are quite noisy and tend to run pretty close to the swimming area.

Overall, we are extremely happy with Rainbow Tours: it was the first time ever we were travelling with a travel agency, and we could not have hoped for a better experience. We have already recommended it to some friends, and we will keep doing so whenever the opportunity arises. Needless to say, we will get in touch when we plan our next long-distance trip.

Thank you again for your guidance and assistance.

Best wishes,

Roberto & Daniela'

 

Mr and Mrs Roccu
July 24, 2017

'Dear Derek

We just wanted to thank you very must for your help and organisation of our holiday.

Our guide was Mike, he said he know you well. We found him excellent.

 

The tour company in Mauritius was very attentive and meet and guided us through to check in and departures.

We had a fantastic time in Madagascar and a very special stay in Mauritius.

 

Best regards

Timothy and Gaynor'

Mr and Mrs Faulks
June 26, 2017

'Hi Fiona,

Our holiday was perfect, thank you. All the transfers and timings etc were spot on and the representatives at both locations were great. The hotels were incredible, we would definitely return to either of them.

If we were to go to Reunion again we would definitely​ take some hiking gear as some of the most beautiful parts of the island are only accessible on foot.

Thank you for your help with everything

Max' 

Mr and Mrs Gibb
April 4, 2017

'Overall holiday satisfaction: excellent. Vakona Forest Lodge excellent in all respects; facilities good. Paradise Cove is a lovely place'. 

Mr Fitt and Ms Giglio
October 27, 2016

'Craig Kaufman was amazingly helpful. He organised our holiday to Madagascar and Mauritius at very very short notice. We thought Vakona Forest Lodge provided excellent accommodation. Having stayed in the Peruvian Amazon rainforest with accommodation provided by local tribes we are very aware that there are different standards in a rainforest to a conventional hotel. We werevery comfortable and happy there. The trips were wonderful and we saw many varieties of lemur. If people went there and expected luxury lodges they may have been disappointed. We expected exactly what we got which was excellent for a rainforest and I would imagine the very best in the area. Some people have unrealistic expectations. 

Best wishes and thank you Craig for organising a wonderful trip.  

Karen and Martin Perrett

Mr and Mrs Perrett
June 10, 2016

We have to say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It is a perfect place to take a relaxing break but also has plenty to do for active people and the golf course is great!

T. and J. Hood
February 23, 2015

Mauritius gave us the perfect beach break after a safari in Sabi Sands. It’s so easy to relax with everything on tap at the Shanti Maurice. The food at was delicious, the beach gorgeous and the whole way everything was presented was really stylish.

F Silva
November 1, 2013
Review items: Mauritius    

All the family loved our hotel [Belle Mare Plage] and it was just right for our elderly parents too. Just the sunny break we all needed with so many activities and also perfect if we just wanted to lie on the beach. 

J Taylor
October 30, 2012
Review items: Mauritius    

First Class! Efficient and detailed information from Rainbow Tours.

L & R Wallace
May 30, 2011
Review items: Mauritius    

Another wonderful holiday, many thanks.

M & S Goff
October 30, 2010
Review items: Mauritius    

Overall a fantastic experience and honeymoon we will never forget. Thank you for advising us and making the booking process easy.

A Lumby
September 30, 2010
Review items: Mauritius    

A splendid holiday, perfect hotels providing all we needed. The service from Rainbow Tours fully met expectations from previous holidays with Rainbow. Many thanks. Looking forward to our next holiday with you.

D Ernaelsteen
February 28, 2010
Review items: Mauritius    

Paradise Cove was a beautiful resort with excellent water sports. Service was variable: some staff excellent & helpful, others gave us incorrect information e.g. about what was included in the all-inclusive package. Things that weren’t included were outrageously expensive, e.g. internet. Website is misleading as it implies there are three restaurants to choose from, but only one is included in the all-inclusive. La Cocoterie restaurant (the nice one!) is approx £120 for two people for one meal. However, overall wonderful experience relaxing on a lovely beach.

Author: S & D Griffiths
March 29, 2009

Staff extremely helpful. Food outstanding. Beautiful hotel.

Author: Hunt
September 21, 2008

Excellent comfort & facilities. Food was either raw or overcooked, service inconsistent, very expensive if not all-inclusive. Massages were amazing.

Author: J Knight
July 12, 2008

Inken was a real star – we could not have asked for better :-)

D Pointer & T Kelly

Delivered on every aspect. Wonderful stay, left feeling completely relaxed.

Georgina & Shannon Briggs
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137