Grant Anderson-Saville
Grant Anderson-Saville Travel Specialist
"Riding in the Chyulu Hills, camel trekking in Laikipia and a balloon flight over the Mara are just some of the exciting activities you can do in Kenya."
Kenya

Kenya Reviews

'Overall holiday satisfaction: Excellent.

Gorilla Mountain View Lodge: excellent comfort, service, location, meals and facilities.

Wildebeest Camp: Excellent comfort and location. Good service, meals and facilities. Barking dogs and noisy toads kept me awake! Perfect otherwise.

Amboseli Porini Camp: Excellent in all respects.

Rwandan driver-guide Mussa and hotel staff second-to-none. Nothing was too muc bother and everything was undertaken with  smile. Went beyond the call of duty - lovely people, amazing country and amazing Gorillas!

Masai guides, Tony the camp manager at Porini and everyone fantastic hosts. Smiling and hospitable & fantastic wildife spotters. An amazing experience.'

Freer-Smith
December 7, 2015

Chameleon Tours were excellent, even suggesting a place to have a meal before waiting at the airport. Air Kenya were very efficient. Our guide Moses from Magic Safaris had an excellent understanding of what tourists want – we couldn’t fault him at all. The best guide we have had over eight safaris!

M. Warrior
February 20, 2015

We felt very much at home here!

Mr Bass
October 30, 2014

Leila perfectly assessed what we wanted, and we could not be happier with the arrangements. We are singing your and Kenya’s praises from the rooftops and hope some more people visit.

Mr Grey
October 30, 2014
Review items: Kenya    

Kicheche atmosphere  particularly welcoming and personal. Little Governor’s felt more ‘commercial’ by comparison. We were glad to experience two contrasting camps, in terms of environment, location and variety of wildlife.

M Powell Jones
October 27, 2014

When I called, Chania was excellent in advising on options, with real personal experience to draw on.

Ms Tamsin Beaumont
August 7, 2014
Review items: Kenya    

We had a truly brilliant time. Everything went like clockwork and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip.

I can't thank you enough for organising such a fantastic trip for us. It exceeded all our expectations (mine, and those of two teenagers) and was a wonderful experience.

Thank you also for tracking us down to alert us to the flight change so we got home okay. I will tell anyone interested in an African holiday what a great experience we had.

Many thanks again!

Ms Tamsin Beaumont
August 7, 2014

We would like to thank all of the staff at Rainbow Tours, especially Derek and Candice who really went out of their way to help us with any queries we had. It will be hard to beat the holiday we had!
 

Ms Jayne Elliott
August 7, 2014
Review items: Kenya    

A great big thank you to Chania for organising this holiday of a lifetime for us. It more than exceeded our expectations. Porini Amboseli Camp, a bull elephant outside our tent at 4.20am so close we could hear him breathe. Porini Lion Camp, lions roaring in the dead of night and a leopard asleep on the camp managers tent in the early evening. As for Unguja Lodge Zanzibar there are not many places you can watch humpback whales from your terrace, we did. Thank you.

K Millar
January 19, 2014
Review items: Kenya    

We probably had more ‘special’ moments on this trip than on any other of our previous safaris (seven!). We were particularly impressed by the guiding and also by the flexibility this time.

D Lawton
December 1, 2013
Review items: Kenya    

The location is amazing, we saw so much in the marsh in front of our tent and the bird life in the camp was wonderful 

R Lee
November 1, 2013

We loved the intimacy of this camp; it was like staying with friends from the very beginning. The tent was the ultimate in luxury. Every detail was carefully considered. The whole team were so considerate

R Lee
November 1, 2013

The two camps we stayed at on our kenya safari were the perfect combination. Although they were close enough to allow a game drive transfer, the ecosystems were different and so there was plenty of variety. We particularly appreciated the philosophy of Kicheche, which supports the wildlife, but also contributes much to the livelihood of the local Masai communities. We really got to know our guide, Patrick at Kicheche, very well and he us as we were very lucky to have the vehicle and Patrick to ourselves for all of the game drives. 

R Lee
November 1, 2013
Review items: Kenya    

Very well looked after. Made to feel special for our 40th wedding anniversary with champagne and a card. Enjoyed sociable evenings

P Symonds
September 24, 2013

Had a trip of a life time and would defiantly recommend it. Thank you for all your help! 

N Green
September 12, 2013
Review items: Kenya    

The best place we have ever stayed! Perfect! Val and Brendan were great hosts 

L Entwistle
September 10, 2013

I was lucky to have Nelson to myself during my stay. Relaxed drives with lots of chats and knowledge sharing. So glad I went, it was my first single safari and I’ll defiantly be going back again. Travelling alone isn’t the problem I expected it would be. Rainbow Tours helped by making all the arrangements like clockwork. I had a fab trip and photo’s to stir memories of a great time spent with lovely people and super wildlife.

S Whitfield
September 8, 2013
Review items: Kenya    

This holiday was the first I have ever had where it has not been a ‘package’ and I must admit to feeling slightly hesitant travelling alone but any concerns I did have before I left home were totally unnecessary. 

J Taylor
September 7, 2013
Review items: Kenya    

Kicheche Mara camp was absolutely delightful. The staff were absolutely brilliant, the food was wonderful and the tents an amazing experience. Nothing was ever too much trouble, whatever was requested. The game drives were incredible and the Masai driver always went to a great deal of effort to find the animals for us

J Taylor
September 7, 2013

Val and Brendan and all the staff were wonderful, the location, service, food excellent. Hot water bottle was first class! 

C Green
September 4, 2013

This was a lot of money for us to spend on a family holiday, but we are glad we had the experiences we did and Rainbow Tours did their bit to ensure a smooth-running holiday

R Cook
July 6, 2013
Review items: Kenya    

The trip went like clockwork. We loved every minute and would certainly do it again. Little Governors and Funzi Keys are delightful with staff who are all friendly and helpful. Best holiday I have had. Thank you.

Prinn
February 3, 2013
Review items: Kenya    

Sirikoi is definitely not a luxury camp

Wilson
October 14, 2011
Review items: Sirikoi    

Kicheche Main Camp is quality accommodation and game viewing is superb, great staff.

Stuart
October 9, 2011

Excellent, an absolutely incredible place to stay – I would highly recommend it to anyone. The Kicheche Camp was amazing – the tents, the service and the game drives were all fabulous.  We all loved it and have amazing photos as proof!

A Martin
July 30, 2011

We had a fabulous Kenya holiday and our Rainbow consultant had suggested the perfect itinerary.  

M Martin
July 1, 2011
Review items: Kenya    

First Class! Efficient and detailed information from Rainbow Tours. 

L & R Wallace
May 30, 2011
Review items: Kenya    

Our stay here far, far exceeded our expectations and showed us wildlife and bits of Nairobi. Sorry to leave this.

L Love
May 30, 2011

One of the best places we have stayed. Absolutely perfect.

A Prophet
March 14, 2011

Just the most perfect holiday. Thank you so much.

M Kennedy
February 28, 2011
Review items: Kenya    

Full marks for everything.

W Wood
February 28, 2011

We were pleased with the varied selection of camps and habitats which allowed us to see a wide variety of birds and animals during the holiday.

H Buckley
January 31, 2011
Review items: Kenya    

Kinondo Kwetu was an excellent place to end [our Kenya and Botswana] holiday. The laundry service was limited to 5 items per person per stay

H Buckley
January 31, 2011
Review items: Kinondo Kwetu    

Excellent on all accounts. The best place we stayed. Guide was superb. Again only two of us in the vehicle which improved the game viewing experience.

H Buckley
January 31, 2011

An excellent hotel, a bit out of town. Good service, location and facilities.

J Colligan
January 31, 2011

Staying at The Palacina cheered us up on a long journey home. Wow!

J & G Dockray
November 11, 2010

Everything ran really smoothly. Loved it and hope to return to Kenya.

A Ball
October 30, 2010
Review items: Kenya    

Many thanks to our consultant for the advice on selecting great accommodation. It was an amazing holiday. Watching wildebeest and zebra crossing the Mara River is a memory I will always treasure!

A Stubbs
October 30, 2010
Review items: Kenya    

Full marks. Wonderful room and view. Very attentive staff. Luxurious.

A Ball
October 30, 2010
Review items: Elsa's Kopje    

Comfortable, with high rating services and meals. What a lovely way to finish our holiday. Super suite. Very friendly and helpful staff.

R & H Craig
October 20, 2010

We were very happy with our holiday in Kenya. The safari camps were really well chosen and the itinerary / logistics were excellent. Thank you very much!

S Dale
September 30, 2010
Review items: Kenya    

Mara Plains Camp is a 30 min. drive from the airstrip if you don’t stop to look at the incredible animals; it took us well over an hour!!! ...We arrived late lunch time and were greeted with "fancy a gin & tonic?" The start of 4 fantastic day stay... Only on one day did we see more than 2 other vehicles. The animals we saw included lions, cheetah, zebra, giraffe, gazelle, cape buffalo, topi, warthog, eland, wildebeest, elephant, leopard, hyena, jackal, spring hare to name but a few and of course there are all the different birds.

J Allan
September 22, 2010

Although we had little sleep, we had our last night with 17 elephants around our tents! Laugh now and a good dining tale! A brilliant experience!

C. Haffenden
August 30, 2010

Comfort and service are good, and the location, facilities and meals are excellent at Pinewood Village!

E Wilson
August 30, 2010

Our host was charming.

Author: C. Haffenden
August 30, 2010
Review items: Loldia House    

We would certainly recommend Rainbow Tours, far beyond our expectations. Excellent service - detailed itinerary/instructions were brilliant, especially the info on transfers in Nairobi. A BIG THANK YOU to Rainbow Tours who organized such a perfect honeymoon for my wife and I. I look forward to dealing with you on our next trip to Africa!

A Milles
July 31, 2010
Review items: Kenya    

Fantastic honeymoon and well orchestrated trip. Thanks.

A Lerner
July 31, 2010
Review items: Kenya    

Our guide at Governors' was excellent!

Duncan
July 31, 2010

From the minute we arrived to our departure it was like staying with friends. We had a few laughs especially when I was “sprayed” by a male lion - suppose it all adds to excitement.

S Whitfield
July 30, 2010

Lovely friendly relaxed resort with clean but clinical rooms. Nice long beachfront for walks and on the whole we were left alone.

S Whitfield
July 30, 2010

Guides - amazing knowledge and passionate about the wild life. Fantastic! Overall [it was] better than we could have imagined. Thank you Rainbow Tours for an excellent experience.

B Miller
June 30, 2010
Review items: Kenya    

Loldia House was wonderful. No one was staying so all revolved around us!

Author: A Hayes
April 30, 2010
Review items: Loldia House    

Once again Rainbow Tours has proved to be the best choice and they couldn’t have suggested, arranged and supported us through a better trip.

R McKendrick
March 31, 2010
Review items: Kenya    

Sasaab was heaven on earth. A very magical place.

R McKendrick
March 31, 2010
Review items: Sasaab    

We both really enjoyed Mara Plains and would strongly recommend it. The location was ideal, being in the conservation area, which meant that we were taken places off the beaten track and able to spend time with the animals a lot of the time with no-one else around. The guides were very knowledgeable and knew where to find the animals and able to inform us all about them. We were amazed how many we saw, which was everything effectively. The camp had a great lay-out and the tents very comfortable. The staff were all exceptionally pleasant, there was a social atmosphere and the food great. We both felt that we would be very happy to return there.

Author: Bailey
February 28, 2010

We both really enjoyed Mara Plains and would strongly recommend it. The location was ideal, being in the conservation area, which meant that we were taken places off the beaten track and able to spend time with the animals a lot of the time with no-one else around.

The guides were very knowledgable and knew where to find the animals and able to inform us all about them.  We were amazed how many we saw, which was everything effectively. The camp had a great lay-out and the tents very comfortable. The staff were all exceptionally pleasant, there was a social atmosphere and the food great. We both felt that we would be very happy to return there.

We also enjoyed Fundu Lagoon, however we believe you know this venue quite well. Again it was very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. Great cocktails. 

Both venues complemented each other exceptionally well and were incredibly similar in style and comfort. Both had a strong sense of the environment and surroundings.

If you would like to know more specfic details we would be happy to supply, however it would all be positive!

Author: Mr C Saunders
February 22, 2010

The stay was memorable not just because of the natural wildlife but because of the guide Philip Keter a most worthy gold medal guide with exceptional grasp of his country and surroundings.

Author: N & R Raffety
January 31, 2010

The stay was memorable not just because of the natural wildlife but because of the guide Philip Keter, a most worthy gold medal guide with exceptional grasp of his country and surroundings.

Author: N & R Raffety
January 30, 2010

Excellent. Fantastic value for money and brilliant service. This was our first safari – just brilliant.

J Lynch
October 1, 2009
Review items: Kenya    

Excellent guides in Kenya!

D Snyders
September 27, 2009
Review items: Kenya    

The game viewing in the Mara North Conservancy was amazing. We both really enjoyed the whole holiday. Thank you!

Mr Wilson
Review items: Kenya    
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137