Candice Buchan
Candice Buchan Travel Specialist
"It’s so hard to choose just a couple of places in South Africa, but for me beach time at Plettenberg Bay and a safari in Sabi Sand top my list."

KwaZulu Natal Reviews

I’m still astonished that they manage to combine the most first-rate efficiency and excellence with a genuine ‘family’ atmosphere  - and  Giraffes!

D McCall
November 16, 2013

Wow – what food. Sumptuous breakfasts and dinners, and fortunately we like walking and so could take a bit of exercise to make room for the next meal! …Being in the mountains, the weather was mixed and cold at night.  We loved it, though.

Patricia R
May 2, 2012

We are so pleased we were persuaded to go there and not anywhere else. Our 3 nights there was the highlight of our 3 weeks away and was a very special experience. Andrew Rattray (David’s son) is now more or less in charge, and listening to people who knew David, apparently Andrew is just as good as his father at telling the stories. Magical, and we didn’t want to leave.

Patricia R
May 2, 2012

Fantastic in every respect. [We wish we] stayed there for [all of] our 6 nights on the coast!

Patricia R
May 2, 2012

Isandwana Lodge was one of our 3 favourite lodges of the trip, well organised, great location, friendly service from management all the way down to the porters, Fantastic historian, Rob Gerrard to explain the 2 battlefields, very good accommodation.

Peter Goodall
September 11, 2011

Kosi forist lodge had the best standard of food on the whole trip.

Peter Goodall
September 11, 2011

The Lalaria Lodge is very hand for the airport with great & very helpful hosts and good location for sea views

Peter Goodall
September 11, 2011
Review items: Lalaria Lodge    

We loved it here. It was very friendly and relaxed, with high standards of service and comfort. I can't imagine that a more expensive lodge would have offered anything else we could have wanted - and they probably provide quite a lot that we wouldn't want! We felt that all the staff worked as a team to make you feel at home there, and were only too ready to stop for a chat at any time. On our second morning, we were the only people wanting a game drive, so we had our own private tour which lasted nearly four hours, and included 45 minutes with a couple of cheetah: magic!

Author: S & J Bradley
February 28, 2011

For us this was an ideal location within the national game reserve. The decor of the chalet was a little tired, but it was well equipped, so we were able to self-cater very easily. The shop was closed while we were there, but we didn't get the impression in had much by way of food, so were glad we had shopped on the way. We didn't try the restaurant, but the menu suggested that it provides a good buffet. Similarly, we didn't go on any of their game drives, but drove ourselves. Our 2x4 was good for this, but I am sure a normal car would have been fine too. We saw plenty of game, including lots of white rhino. Only one family of lion, but we had understood that this isn't the ideal place for big cats. We liked the spaciousness of the Camp site, with lots of greenery and a nice swimming pool.

S & J Bradley
February 28, 2011
Review items: Hilltop Camp    

Amakhosi Safari Lodge was the best place to stay. We all would love to go back. The best service by far.

J Sinclair
August 30, 2010

The service, meals and location are excellent at Kosi Forest Lodge. The amenities are also good.

D & S Capstick
July 30, 2010

The camp is comfortable, and the meals and service are both good. Excellent meals and location.

D & S Capstick
July 30, 2010

We were upgraded to a Lakeside Villa, excellent dinner, very good value for money. Breakfast choice was excellent

M. Banham
February 28, 2010

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Good location for exploring Northern Durban. We received complimentary champagne for our honeymoon on arrival at Lalaria Lodge. Good recommendations of local restaurants and attractions. Breakfast is cooked fresh and very good selection.

Author: M. Banham
February 28, 2010
Review items: Lalaria Lodge    

Very good food at Cleopatra Mountain Farmhoue. Not really enough to do for more than a couple of days though unless you are keen on hiking.

T Taylor
June 9, 2009

In some ways [Fugitives Drift was] the high spot of the trip. You need two nights at least (we had three) and I would hire a robust car. We upgraded to an XTrail which enabled us to take some trips from the lodge without worrying about the potholes. Excellent tours of the Battlefields.

T Taylor
June 9, 2009

Stunning location & accommodation – perfect spot for a honeymoon! Staff were excellent.

Author: J & J Atkinson
April 19, 2009

Beautiful lodge – short walk to lovely beach – very quiet and peaceful. Great managers, Frank & Eileen, who made us so welcome & very, very kind – couldn’t do enough – even took us shopping one day.

Author: S Brown
April 3, 2009
Review items: Lalaria Lodge    

Excellent. Very good hotel, with friendly service and good value for money. Murray Cairns and his wife came to pick us up … and was a good guide. We had another tour with his company to see some wildlife and to view some rock art. The Sani pass tour was fantastic: the scenary was astonishing as were some of the roads (really dreadful) and we had a good day. Murray's Sani Pass Tours are to be recommended. We very much liked Moorcroft with friendly staff, good food and prices and lovely outlook.

A Pye
December 25, 2008

Again, stunning scenery and lovely accommodation. More informal. Went in pool here quite a bit – amazing setting. Loved it here. Few animals on game drives, but enjoyed hide.

J Stockwin
August 14, 2007

Leopard Hills Game Lodge excellent all round. 5 star all the way.

L & A Bailey
April 12, 2007
Calling from one of the countries below?
If so use the toll-free number listed.
USA611 3001 4894
Australia184 4332 5169
New Zealand184 4332 5137